books like harry potter
  • Save

20+ Books Like Harry Potter That Every Potterhead Must Read

Harry Potter has a huge fanbase. The first books came out in 1997 and people still talk about the impeccable writing by J.K Rowling. The Potterheads want more books like Harry Potter to indulge in.

The characters of the books are also very famous among children and adults as well. Movies were also made later on the book which was again a huge hit but there are some things in the books which are missing in the movie. This can be due to the limited screen time or other reasons. but there is something about books which speaks to you. Previously we have made “Would you rather Harry Potter poll” and a link to all the cool Harry Potter merchandise and other products that you can own.

Here we bring you a list of books which has magic, monsters, fairies, elves and all other creatures you can think of to hook you to the book again.

Go ahead take a look-

List of books like Harry Potter

An Epic Series of Failures by Chris Rylander

books like harry potter
  • Save
Amazon

This is the first book in the list of books like Harry Potter. An Epic Series of Failures is a fantasy-adventure which will keep you hooked and happy while savouring each page.

Greg Belmont and his friends put in all the efforts to save the world from falling apart. His abilities are revealed when he drinks a special tea brought home by his dad. On the adventure, Greg and his friends come across many hurdles and embark on an adventurous journey where many troubles and surprises await them. The ancient feud between the dwarves and the elves is ignited which really makes it an interesting read.

You will definitely enjoy this one if you like magical setting and elves and other magical creatures.

Click here to buy

 

The secrets of immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

books like harry potter
  • Save
Amazon

If you are a fan of long book series then you should definitely go for this one. This novel has six books. We all have heard the name of Nicholas Flamel in the Harry Potter books where he discovered the secret to immortal life.

It is said to be actually true and the secrets are revealed in this series. It is the most powerful weapon which will prove to be deadly if gets into wrong hands.  The main villain in the series is Dr John Dee who arrives in the life of Sophie and Josh and tries to steal the ancient book. The journey of Josh and Sophie with the help of Nicholas Flamel is beautifully written by Michael and is very engaging.

This is probably the only book like Harry Potter which has taken direct reference from the story and extended it to a whole new dimension.

Click here to buy

 

Sam London Adventure Series by Tom Calgi Gallicano

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This is also a magical-fantasy series consisting of 2 books. If you like to read about endangered magical creatures then you would enjoy this piece. The magical creatures are in danger and someone wants to expose them and take control over the entire humankind. This can only be done through gryphon’s claw- a magical talisman.

Sam is recruited by a Zoologist who is sent by the government and also ensures the safety of these creatures.

Click here to buy

100 dresses series by Susan Maupin Schmid

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

100 dresses is a trilogy and a good option if you want to read a book like Harry Potter.

The story revolves around a girl named Darling Dimple and her 100 adventures. The enchanted castle has an old closet which has 100 dresses. those dresses are never worn by anybody but she is the type of girl to do things what please her. She tries on the dresses and when she tries the eleventh dress she experiences something different, she gets transformed into the head scrubber of the castle. She discovers that the dresses help you disguise your identity by being someone else.

READ  Ryan Reynolds is coming as 'Detective Pikachu" and we couldn’t be more excited.

Click here to buy

 

His Dark Materials Series by Philip Pullman

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This is a very riveting fantasy trilogy by Philip Pullman and will prove to be a good read if you enjoy reading books like Harry Potter.

The Golden Compass which is the first book in the series has won the Whitebread award. Lyra runs North where her uncle is trying to build a bridge to a parallel world. The armoured bears and witch clans rule.

Lyra is a cunning girl who never shies away from lying and getting her way. She goes to the grey-lit world which is very dangerous and no one has ever returned from there. There are many magical creatures in this series like witches, assassins, spies, angels and tempters.

Click here to buy

 

Pennyroyal Academy Series by M.A Larson

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This is a trilogy of magical adventure written beautifully by M.A Larson. The excitement is thoroughly maintained in the entire book. Evie arrives at a strange place when she realises that the world is at war and enlists her name in the Pennyroyal Academy where they are trained to fight against dragons and witches. She makes many friends and enemies while she is there. They went through rigorous training.

The princesses and witches are old enemies who fight the war of humanity and cruelty. The resemblance to Harry Potter is uncanny.

Click here to buy

Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

If you like stories revolving around a secret cult then this one is best for you. Denizen is an orphan who finds out that he is a member of a secret army which fights against dark and dangerous monsters.

On the mission, he finds out the truth about his parents and their sacrifices to keep him alive. Denizen is a knight and he finds out from other knights the half-truth about his parent’s death. His journey to discover the truth and destroying the bad from the world is enthralling and this is one of the best books like Harry Potter.

Click here to buy

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordon

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

If you like the mysterious Egyptian stories then this will be a perfect read for you. This an adventure-mythological fiction trilogy. The Kane brothers Carter and Sadie are the descendants of the two pharaohs. The Egyptian gods interact with the modern world and want to keep their control over the world intact.

The Kane brothers and their friends are forced to do things according to the wishes of the Egyptian gods. Their journey to break free from all this chaos and save the world from the wrath is great to read. This is one of the books like Harry Potter as it contains myths, legends and magic.

Click here to buy

 

22 Best Albus Dumbledore Quotes From Harry Potter Movies

 

The Great Library by Rachel Caine

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This is another one to the list of books like Harry Potter. The Great Library governs the flow of knowledge throughout the world with its centres in every city. The books cannot be kept personally by anybody and it has consequences.

Jess Brightwell is a sucker of knowledge and reads illegal books to attain that kind of knowledge. He wants to work for the library and is asked to spy on his own family. He can be a member of the library if he passes the final tests. But, the library is of supreme power and thinks that knowledge is more valuable than human life. This changes Jess’s entire perspective. The series is very captivating and the writing is commendable. You must read this one if you like books like Harry Potter.

Click here to buy

These Witches don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling

books like harry potter
  • Save
goodreads

If the stories about witches interest you then this is the one for you to not miss. Hannah is a very powerful witch who can draw power from Earth, water and air. But she keeps it hidden from humans as it can result in losing her powers for good. Mysterious things start happening around the town and she suspects that this is the work of a dark witch and decides to uncover the person behind all this with the help of her ex-lover, Veronica.

READ  Qualities of Chandler Bing That Make Him So Relatable

The twist and turns and the lingering romance keeps you at the edge and leaves you turning pages. The magic and secret coven and mystery make this trilogy worth reading.

Click here to buy

 

Dragon Keepers series by Kate Klimo

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This series consists of 6 books which will be great if you like to take your time reading and exploring a book. The series revolves around 2 cousins who have always been in awe of magic and the magical world. They find an egg one day which gives them a chance of being a part of that world. Both read all about dragons and what to feed the and stumble upon a new and strange website which tells all about dragons and a treacherous villain who has kept himself alive for centuries by drinking dragon’s blood.

They become dragon keepers overnight at the age of only 10. The writing is fast-paced and the series is filled with adventure.

Click here to buy

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This is an adult-fantasy trilogy which has the closest resemblance to the Harry Potter series. This story is about a boy who is interested in magic and interviews at Brakebills College of Magical Pedagogy. His friend Julia doesn’t get in while he does. To keep the identity of the school secret, her memory is wiped away. At Brakesbill he learns the nuances of magic and the complications behind it.

This is one of the best books like Harry Potter as it also has a magic school to train students against the dark forces. The mythical creature in one of the books which he keeps reading is real which is discovered later.

Click here to buy

 

Shades of Magic by V. E. Schwab

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

Antaris are magicians having the capability to travel between parallel London. Kell is the last Antari and is the main protagonist of this trilogy. He travels from white London to dark London and also Grey London as an ambassador of Maresh Empire. At some places, he can catch only glimpses of magic.

Kell is a smuggler who illegally takes people to visit places which they can never see otherwise and gets caught once thus fleeing the worlds of London. After escaping he meets Delilah who wants to have an adventure and see another world. They keep all the worlds from falling apart and run for their lives the entire time. This book will surely satisfy your hunger for magic and magical worlds.

Click here to buy

 

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

The story is well-paced and the adventures are perfectly described by the author where the young visionaries navigate through the strange world. Zelie and Tzain are on the path to find magic-filled power after suffering under the rule of the king. the quest has many twists and turns. The story is explained beautifully from many points of views. The betrayal, friendship and sacrifices are depicted aptly in this series.

You will definitely love this one if you want to read more books like Harry Potter.

Click here to buy

 

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

A great trilogy to read if you love books like Harry Potter. Cornelia has written other great and best-selling books like Dragon rider, The ghosthunters and the thief lord and this one is also another feather in her hat.

Maggie and her father have a surprising ability to bring the characters of the books to life if they read it out aloud. The writing is extremely riveting will leave you turning pages and asking for more.

Click here to buy

 

The Uncommoners Series by Jennifer Bell

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

Another trilogy to the list of books like Harry Potter for you to read and relish as you unravel the secrets in the pages.

There is an underground magical world away from the world but just below London. Ivy and Seb have strange encounters when their grandmother falls ill and is taken to the hospital. They escape the hospital after a weird policeman starts questioning them. They reach the magical underground world where simple things have magical powers. On their journey to unravel the truth they find out that their family possess an uncommon treasure which has the forces of evil after it.

READ  20 Inspiring Biographies of Women

Click here to buy

 

Worst Witch by Jill Murphy

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

A perfect read for those who like reading long fantasy series as there are 8 books of this series. Mildred Hubble is considered to be the worst witch in the Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches. Adventures of Mildred are recited in the book by the brilliant writing of Jill Murphy. Many TV series have been made on this book time and again and has gained many accolades. If you like magic and the flying brooms and human transitions then this is the book series that you must read.

Click here to buy

 

Theatre Illuminata by Lisa Mantchev

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

This adult fantasy trilogy is written beautifully by Lisa Mantchev and has won awards for the same. The actors of the play can not leave the theatre as they are trapped there unlike Beatrice. She considers the theatre her home while all other characters are born because of their role in the play. She finds her mother in the movie given to one of the many twists in the series. Beatrice has an ability to free the players and hence is unwanted in the theatre by the manager.

Click here to buy

 

Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

Again a long fantasy-adventure series written by John Flanagan consisting of 12 books. You can take your time to savour this series and are sure to enjoy every bit of it.

Ranger will and Horace are two adventurers who are ever-ready to protect the kingdom of Araluen. The goal is to keep it safe from traitors and invaders and they face many hurdles and challenges but do their job perfectly. This is a very captivating series with different yet connected stories in each part.

Click here to buy

 

The Lost Years of Merlin by T. A. Barron

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

Merlin is a legendary wizard whose tales of youth are being told in the books. There are 5 books in the series. T.A. Barron’s fresh outlook on Merlin is commendable in the movie. Merlin receives rigorous training on the land between the sky and the Earth. He later goes on to become one of the greatest wizards of all time. The book is nicely written and will satisfy your fantasy hunger.

Click here to buy

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

It is a fantasy novel depicting different viewpoints. The story revolves around two magicians who start as competitors but slowly fall in love. They are trained by their ambitious instructors and participate in a competition where only one of them can be a winner and have it all. The book is a perfect cocktail of magic and romance which will keep you hooked throughout.

This is another addition to the list of books like Harry Potter and you will surely enjoy this if you like a story revolving around magic.

Click here to buy

 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

This is a fantasy novel having 4 parts. A group of 5 friends living in the fictional town of Henrietta, Virginia keep visiting a forest which talks to them in Latin.

If you love reading books with mysteries and are filled with adventures then this will be perfect for you. The adventures lived by the characters in the books will surely entice you.

Click here to buy

 

Redwall by Brian Jacques

books like harry potter
  • Save
amazon

It is a fantasy novel which has many positive reviews for its page-turning suspenseful and magical story. Many periods of history are covered in the book. The animals in the books are capable of speaking and remind you of the magical creatures in Narnia and Harry Potter. The books have a series of supernatural and paranormal activities which will interest you.

Click here to buy

 

 

You might also like-

13 Best Time travelling books that will blow your mind 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *